top of page

the anakrousis

I am still working on a post about Andrew Taylor's interpretation of trireme tactics which I mentioned here. I did not want to merely regurgitate a dumbed down version of his paper, so I decided to provide some added value by exploiting the fact that I am using a digital media. The great idea was to create stop-motion videos to reproduce some of the tables/illustration of the paper, to show the manouvers done by ships in motion. Yay! Fantastic!


The only problem is... I had no idea how I was going to do it. I got to find myself a software and play around with it a little bit and try to take a ton of pictures and... This below is the very first effort. It's the anakrousis, the approach heads-on to an enemy line followed by a rapid backing away from the encounter. This could be used, for example, to lure aggressive captains out of an enemy line of battle, thus creating gaps to be exploited. This could also be a fleet manouver, as was apparently used by the Hellenes at Salamis in the initial phases of the battle.


It is, by far, the simplest of Andrew's tables I decided to "re-enact", and I almost got cray doing it. And I still have four of them to do!! One thing: I took care to maintain the distances in scale with the ships. So, what you see is what it was like. It is really impressive how close they could get with this manouver!


200 visualizzazioni

Post recenti

Mostra tutti
bottom of page